Oregon State University

Calendar

Calendars

Event Details

Picture Perfect Science

5 week online course for K-6 educators

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

The award-winning NSTA PressĀ® Picture-Perfect Science Lessons series combines science and reading in a natural way and provides easy-to-grasp background in physical science, life science, and Earth and space sciences. The classroom-tested lessons clearly identify the appropriate Next Generation Science Standards and embed carefully selected reading strategies.

Register * Download a Flyer

This 5- week on-line course will introduce Elementary school teachers to the Next Generation Science Standards, how to use picture books in combination with ready-to-use student pages and assessments to aid in guided inquiry and communicate how to integrate language arts and STEM learning objectives in meaningful learning opportunities for students. Webinars will be every Wednesday from 4:00- 6:00pm (PST), 6:00-8:00pm CST, and 7:00-9:00pm (EST), February 1st through March 1st, 2017. 

Materials provided***:

  • Electronic copy of one (1) PPS book

Cost is $160 for the 5 sessions (plus $9.79 processing fee)

**Teachers from Oregon Coast STEM Hub partners are FREE. 

Course credit (1 credit, $60 additional, at your expense) will be available through Western Oregon University for those who participate in the full series of webinars (10 hours) and complete the homework (5 hours).  

Advance registration for this on-line course is required and space is limited. Registration will close on January 15th, 2017.  The course will be held through ZOOM video conferencing. You must have access to a device with audio and a video camera (MAC/PC/iPad/Android- Chromebooks not yet supported.)

online webinar
This is a repeating event starting on: 02/01/2017 4:00 PM
  • Recurring every week, (with weeks starting on Monday), ending on 03/01/2017
Recent Occurrences:
This event appears on the following calendars: