Oregon State University

We’d like your feedback: Calendar User Survey – Event Creator Survey

Calendar

Calendars

Event Details

Integrating Civic Learning into the STEM Classroom


Thursday, November 2, 2017 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Civic learning and engagement is a form of integrative learning that intentionally prepares students for informed and engaged participation in the community. Intentional design of civic learning experiences provides opportunities for students to develop civic knowledge, skills, and dispositions through learning, inquiry and practice.

Contrary to traditional views, the new civics is not limited to fields like political science and communication; rather civic learning and engagement are critical to 21st century scientific literacy and public problem solving. This two-session workshop will introduce national work on civic learning and engagement, with a particular emphasis on applications for the STEM classroom.

During our time together, participants will identify and discuss relevant conceptual frameworks, draft a civic learning goal and sketch out the design of an assignment that integrates a civic learning and STEM learning goal.

Workshop Schedule

This workshop has two online sessions, and participants are required to attend both. Sessions are Thursday November 2 and 9 at 2:30-4PM ET / 1:30-3PM CT / 12:30-2PM MT / 11:30AM-1PM PT. Workload Participants will be expected to complete pre-session readings, interact in online discussion forums in between sessions, and respond to a reflection prompt.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop is open for registration from Monday, October 9 through Monday, October 23. The workshop is limited to 25 participants; STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. CIRTL staff refer to the institution and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.

Register at https://www.cirtl.net/events/299

This event appears on the following calendars: