Oregon State University

We’d like your feedback: Calendar User Survey – Event Creator Survey

Calendar

Calendars

Event Details

Leveraging Open Source Principles and Resources for Teaching and Learning in STEM


Friday, November 10, 2017 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Free and open source software (FOSS) has become a linchpin to many of the most advanced technologies to arise in the past two decades. The principles and practices behind the success of open source software has made its way into non-software contexts and education should be no different.

In this workshop we will explore the direct use of open source software and the power it can bring to education along with how open source principles can be applied in a learning environment. Here we will focus on the use of Jupyter notebooks both in and out of the classroom and the use of GitHub as a learning platform promoting collaboration and exposing students to ideas such as version control and peer review. We will also discuss using open source educational materials and what advantages and disadvantages these might bring.

The workshop will include demonstrations, hands-on activities, and in the second session a show-and-tell to discuss what participants were able to do between sessions.

Workshop Schedule

This workshop has two online sessions, and participants are required to attend both. Sessions are Friday November 10 and 17 at 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT.

Workload

Participants will be asked to utilize the tools that are presented in session 1 before they experience session 2.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop is open for registration from Monday, October 16 through Monday, October 30. The workshop is limited to 50 participants; STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. CIRTL staff refer to the institution and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.

Register at https://www.cirtl.net/events/312

This event appears on the following calendars: