Oregon State University

We’d like your feedback: Calendar User Survey – Event Creator Survey

Calendar

Calendars

Event Details

Introduction to STEM Project Based Learning


Thursday, November 9, 2017 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Project based learning (PBL) is an instructional strategy whereby students gain knowledge as they work towards a well-defined product. In this online workshop, we will discuss how STEM PBL supports students’ attainment of content knowledge and development of critical analysis and reasoning skills by working to respond to an authentic and complex problem. As a group, we will discuss the value of integrated and multi-disciplinary collaborations in STEM PBLs, the 5E Model of Instruction as it is situated in the context of a STEM project-based learning activity, and the construction of an ill-defined task and well-defined outcomes.

Deliverables from the workshop will include the Instructor PBL Checklist which provides a framework for the design of a PBL. Participants will complete the workshop with an actionable outline of a PBL in their disciplines.

Workshop Schedule

This workshop has two online sessions, and participants are required to attend both. Sessions are Thursday, November 9 and 16 at 8-9:30PM ET / 7-8:30PM CT / 6-7:30PM MT / 5-6:30PM PT.

Workload

Between the two workshop sessions, participants will be expected to draft a sample project-based learning assignment.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop is open for registration from Monday, October 16 through Monday, October 30. The workshop is limited to 28 participants; STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. CIRTL staff refer to the institution and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.

Register at https://www.cirtl.net/events/293

This event appears on the following calendars: