Oregon State University

We’d like your feedback: Calendar User Survey – Event Creator Survey

Calendar

Calendars

Event Details

5 Things to Do on the First and Last Day of Class


Thursday, October 19, 2017 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

This two-part workshop will focus on two critical, but often overlooked, class days: the first and the last day. How can you use these important days to their maximum potential?

Part 1: The First Day You never get a second chance to make a first impression. In fact, studies show that student ultimate opinions of a course are often formed on the first day. So how can you use that time to your advantage and set the right tone for the rest of the semester? (You weren't just going to read the syllabus to them, were you?) In the first part of this workshop, we will discuss five things that should be part of your first day lesson plans.

Part 2: The Last Day By the end of the semester, we are all exhausted and overworked. How can we end the semester with the same enthusiasm that we had at the beginning? This portion of the workshop will present five things that you can do on the last day of class to help students reflect on their learning, the course content, and their successes.

Workshop Schedule

This workshop has two online sessions, and participants are required to attend both. Sessions are Thursday, October 19 and November 16 at 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop is open for registration from Monday, September 25 through Monday, October 9. The workshop is limited to 50 participants; STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. CIRTL staff refer to the institution and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.

Register at https://www.cirtl.net/events/320

This event appears on the following calendars: